Abiding in the Lord of all seasons

I don’t know about you, but I often find that when something bad happens, I look forward to a time when it will be over, so that I can experience some joy. Likewise, when I experience a delightful moment, I start to worry that still something bad may happen in that moment, or soon after.

It’s like I can never be comfortable in either situations. But recently I came across a scripture that amazed me. I was delighted to know that the Bible can actually speak into my dilemma. James in chapter 5, verse 13 says, “Is anyone among you suffering? Let him pray. Is anyone cheerful? Let him sing praise.” (James‬ ‭5:13‬)

One thing common with prayer and praises is that they are both directed at the same person, who is our Lord Jesus Christ. I find a lot of comfort to know that when I am suffering or sad, I can approach my Lord in prayer. But still when I am happy and excited, I can approach my Lord through singing praises.

But there’s a better way to approach the Lord of all seasons, and that is to maintain a close relationship with him at all times. This way, we get to know him and Christ gets to infuse his ways and character into our broken life. Isn’t this the reason he came into this world and gave his life for us!!

In John 15:4-5, Christ calls us to a closeness likened to a branch on a tree. The sustenance of the branch is directly from the tree. This includes nutrients, water, space and the sense of direction. This is exactly how the Lord wants us to be with him. In such a relationship, Christ is the constant source and we are continually looking to him for everything, in order to bear fruits as a result of his supply.

“Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me. I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.” (John‬ ‭15‬:‭4‬-‭5‬)

Lately, I enjoy spending time with Christ, talking and laughing and just glowing in his presence. My sincere prayer is that I will abide in him and allow Christ to transform my character, that I will bear the good fruit which is Christ-like.

Published by Nabaka Banoba

My passion for writing has come alive ever since I started enjoying my relationship with Lord Jesus Christ. What keeps me in check is knowing that I have a firm foundation for my life here and after. My confidence is in Christ himself as my solid ROCK.

Leave a comment